ANZEC Members attend The Australian Geographic Society Gala Awards 2017

On November 1st Australia’s top adventurers, exploration enthusiasts, and over 400 guests ascended upon the Sofitel in Sydney to celebrate the best of Australian adventure. The gala was hosted by journalist and broadcaster Liz Hayes in tandem with Australia’s greatest living explorer Tim Jarvis as guest speaker. This annual exploration extravaganza combined delicious food, fine wine and the inspirational stories of ordinary Australians, doing extraordinary things.

The Explorers Club Australia New Zealand Chapter extends sincere congratulations this year’s award winners: Sandy Robson (Adventurer of the Year), Jon Muir (Lifetime of Adventure Award), Lisa Blair (Spirit of Adventure Award), Sam Mitchell (Young Adventurer of the Year), Madison Stewart (Young Conservationist of the Year), Natalie Isaacs (Conservationist of the Year), and Curt and Mich Jenner (Lifetime of Conservation Award).

By Sophie Holllingsworth

About Author

Todd Tai

In 2002 Todd created the Australian Geographic Society Members Expedition Program which enabled members to participate in unique adventures, scientific research, art & photographic workshops. Profits generated from these programs have generated hundreds of thousands of dollars for the Society. In the field Todd has led many successful desert expeditions, organised marine research expeditions, photographic skills and wilderness/landscape art painting workshops, and managed remote scientific research camps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *